In order to help participants understand how their data is being shared, the Active Apps Notifier lets them know when a host or other participant uses an app while a meeting or webinar is taking place, such as when audio, video, chat, or meeting files are being accessed. Live streaming and transcription services are included in these apps. While account owners and participants are able to share meeting or webinar content at any time, the Active Apps Notifier allows account owners and participants to learn which apps other participants are using during meetings or webinars, as well as the type of content they are able to access through those apps.
One user may, for example, be using a transcription application in order to obtain a live feed of the meeting content to translate. As a result, you are able to view which participant is using the app, you can see that the app is accessing audio, and you can click on the app to find out more about it and its developer.
- Zoom desktop client
- Windows: version 5.7.3 or higher
- MacOS: version 5.7.3 or higher
- Linux: version 5.7.3 or higher
- Zoom mobile app
- Android: version 5.7.3 or higher
- IOS: version 5.7.3 or higher
- Zoom web client
- Zoom Rooms for Conference Room
- PC: version 5.7.3 or higher
- MacOS: version 5.7.3 or higher
How to use the Active Apps Notifier
The Active Apps Notifier will appear in the top-left corner of your meeting window when 3rd-party apps, integrations, or services begin accessing meeting or webinar content.
- In order to see the 3rd-party service that is currently accessing content during a meeting or webinar, you must click the Active Apps Notifier icon. This will display what type of content that particular app has access to, as well as which participants in the meeting approved that particular app for their personal use.
- By clicking on any listed app, you will be able to find more information about that integration in the respective Marketplace page.
Frequently asked questions
What apps can I use in Zoom meetings?
The Zoom App Marketplace offers a variety of apps you can download and install to enhance the quality of your meetings and webinars hosted on your account. Zoom accounts with more than one user can be configured so that account owners or admins can manage which apps other users have access to by requiring them to pre-approve them in advance.
How does the Active Apps Notifier work?
The Active App Notifier icon appears, along with a tooltip, in the meeting window when an Active App app accesses meeting content, such as video, audio, chat, and meeting files. The icon will appear when users hover over it in the list of apps that are accessing the content during the meeting or webinar. The app will also display information about what type of content it has access to, as well as which users are using it. It is possible for users to click on the names of the applications on the list to learn more about the applications and their developers.
In the same window where your meeting or webinar is running, the Active Apps Notifier icon will appear in the top-left corner of the window next to the encryption icon.
How do I turn off the Active Apps Notifier?
During the duration of the meeting, the Active Apps Notifier remains active, so that users will always be able to see at any time in the meeting which apps are actively accessing content. It is Zoom’s intention to provide you with these notices in order to help you make informed decisions regarding the way you use Zoom.
Can I view all active apps used by my account?
The Active Apps Notifier Report allows account admins and owners to see and manage the apps that have accessed the content of their meeting rooms over the past 30 days, thus letting them make an informed decision regarding whether they wish to continue approving the use of these apps in their meetings and webinars. An admin can view the Marketplace pages of each active app in the report if they wish to find more information about the app, and if necessary they may disable the app.
What does it mean for account owners and users to share data with apps?
For some apps to function properly, meeting content is required. A meeting host may want to use a transcription app to make meeting minutes available to colleagues who cannot attend the meeting. In this and similar situations, the app is provided access to data (in this case, audio content) necessary to operate by a user (here, the meeting host).
The Active Apps Notifier refers to an “account owner.” What does that mean? Who is the account owner?
The account owner is typically the person who creates an account on Zoom and has the most access and control over it. Once the account is created, this role can be assigned to another user, who can fully manage the account settings as well as host meetings or webinars on their account. Owners of accounts can be retrieved from their profile pages.
What will these apps do with the information they collect?
Can I opt out of sharing my content with these apps?
These notices are provided by Zoom to assist you in making informed decisions about how you use Zoom. You can mute your microphone, turn off video, not send chats during meetings when a Marketplace app has access to meeting content, or leave a meeting entirely if an app has access to meeting content.
Does the Active Apps Notifier alert other meeting participants when I’m using apps outside of Zoom, such as a web browser, during a meeting?
Not all apps available on the App Marketplace are included in the Active Apps Notifier. Apps in a meeting, such as video, audio, and/or chat during the meeting, will be notified to others when they access meeting content. Participants in meetings are not notified of activities occurring outside of the Zoom platform using the Active Apps Notifier.