Ad hoc and automatic call recording can be enabled or disabled by administrators.
- Ad hoc recording:
- Using in-call controls, phone users can record calls. Call recordings can be accessed if disabled.
- Auto recording:
- Zoom Phone automatically records calls. The recording of a call can be announced through an audio prompt.
- Allow member Ad Hoc Call Recording for Queue Calls:
- Provide in-call recording controls for queue queue members.
The recordings of all calls will be stored in the cloud. Call logs will allow administrators to access all recorded calls. Users can check their own call recordings ad hoc or automatically using the call history.
- Ad hoc recordings can be accessed, downloaded, and deleted by default. The level of access can be changed.
- Administrators are the only people who have access to automatic recordings. Administrators or roles with the appropriate privileges can access automatic recordings for call queues.
- To make recording access, downloading, and deletion easy, share recordings with phone users.
- The active recording of ad hoc or automatic calls can be affected by certain scenarios.
- You can customize Zoom Phone roles so that specific users, call queues, or sites can access call recordings.
This article covers:
- How to enable or disable ad hoc or automatic call recording
- How to enable or disable ad hoc call recording for call queues
- Ad hoc or automatic call recording settings
Prerequisites for changing ad hoc or automatic call recording settings
- Accounts for professionals, businesses, and educators are available
- With owner or administrator access
- Through Zoom Phone
How to enable or disable ad hoc or automatic call recording
- Multiple sites can be configured individually if you have them enabled. The account settings can be changed if multiple sites are disabled.
- Queued calls can also be automatically recorded.
- At the account, site, call queue, or phone user level, users can access policy settings.
- The Automatic Call Recording and Ad Hoc Call Recording toggles enable or disable recording for the site, phone, or account associated with it.
- For more information, see the section below.
How to enable or disable ad hoc call recording for call queues
- Call queue policy settings can be accessed here.
- You can enable or disable member ad-hoc call recording for queue calls by clicking the Allow member ad-hoc call recording for queue calls toggle.
Ad hoc or automatic call recording settings
You can customize these settings once you have enabled Automatic Call Recording or Ad Hoc Call Recording:
- Access Manage Member List:
- Determine which members have access to call recordings.
- Recording calls of (only available if enabling automatic call recording for phone users or call queues):
- If inbound calls will be recorded, specify whether outbound calls will be recorded as well.
- Allow call recording transcription:
- Specify whether transcription will be done. Recordings can be viewed with transcription. Desktop clients and mobile apps are available for viewing the transcription. The transcription of automatic recordings can only be viewed by phone users who have access to automatic recordings.
- Play a prompt to call participants when the recording has started:
- Disclose the recording to call participants with a disclaimer. Default prompts can be selected, or you can select, record, and upload custom audio files. Automatic call recording prompts cannot be customized. A standard prompt is used for ad-hoc recordings.
- Once the call recording starts, a prompt will play. The prompt will not be heard by participants who join the call after it is played. After the prompt has played, a person added to the call or someone who monitors the call will not hear it.
- Press 1 to provide consent to be recorded:
- The caller is required to explicitly consent to being recorded by pressing 1 after the initial prompt. You will hear this prompt twice. In the event that the caller does not press 1 after the second prompt, they are advised that they are giving their consent to be recorded by continuing to remain on the call. A passive consent will appear in the associated call logs instead of an active consent.
- Accounts may disable multiple sites (multiple sites disabled) or sites may enable multiple sites (multiple sites enabled).