Enabling authentication to view cloud recordings in zoom App

Overview

The authentication functionality allows hosts to restrict participants who can view a recording from Zoom users who are currently logged in, for example, or to Zoom users whose email addresses have a particular domain attached to them.

Viewers who attempt to watch a recording but are not able to meet the defined authentication criteria, such as not using the correct email domain or not logged in to the account, will receive the following message:

Prerequisites for enabling authentication to view cloud recordings

  • Account type: Pro, Business, Education, or Enterprise
  • User Licensed Account
  • Cloud Recording enabled

How to enable users to authenticate to view cloud recordings

Account

  1. Log in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. Go to Account Management and select Account Settings.
  3. Select the Recording tab.
  4. To enable or disable this feature, please click the toggle to require users to log in before viewing cloud recordings.
  5. You will need to click Enable or Disable on the verification dialog box if a verification dialog appears.
  6. For users in your account who want the settings to be mandatory, click the lock icon, then click Lock to confirm your changes.
  7. You can add any authentication method by clicking + Add Option under Authentication Options.

Group

Note: Those who have signed up for a Zoom account after August 21, 2021, or who have enabled the New Admin Experience on their account, will see Groups instead of Group Management.

  1. Log in to the Zoom web portal.
  2. Select User Management, then Group Management.
  3. Select the desired user group, or create a new group if necessary.
  4. Navigate to the Recording tab.
  5. In order to enable or disable Require users to authenticate in order to view cloud recordings, you should click the toggle.
  6. A dialog box will appear if a change needs to be verified. Click Enable or Disable to confirm the change.
  7. (Optional) If you want to make each user in your account have to adhere to this setting, click the lock icon, and then click Lock after you have confirmed the setting.
  8. To change or hide an option in the Authentication Options, click Edit or Hide.

User

  1. You will be able to sign into the Zoom web portal once you have signed in.
  2. Simply click on the Settings link in the navigation menu.
  3. Once there, select Recording from the dropdown menu.
  4. To enable or disable the option Require users to authenticate before viewing cloud recordings, click the corresponding toggle.
  5. Verify the changes by clicking Enable or Disable in the verification dialog box.
  6. You can edit the name of an authentication option or hide it by clicking Edit or Hide in the Selection.
    Note: The option will be grayed out if it has been disabled at the group level or at the account level, which will require contacting Zoom support.

How to enable authentication for users to view a specific cloud recording

Account

  1. Access Zoom’s web portal by signing in.
  2. Select Recording Management under Account Management.
  3. To share a recording, click Share.
  4. Select Only authenticated users can view this recording under Share this cloud recording in the Share this cloud recording popup window.
  5. Please select the users you want to view your cloud recording in the dropdown menu.
  6. Activate or deactivate them by clicking the toggles below:
    • Add an expiry date to the link
    • Viewers can download
    • Viewers can see the transcript.
    • View recording on demand (registration required)
      Note: This recording is available only to registered users.
    • Passcode protection
  7. You can share information by clicking Show or Hide on the Sharing Information dialog box. Sharing Information can also be copied.
  8. Then click Done.

User

  1. Join the Zoom web portal by logging in to your account.
  2. Click on the Recordings tab from the navigation menu.
  3. Select the Cloud Recordings option from the list.
  4. Locate the recording you want and click on it.
  5. Click the Share button.
  6. You can enable the Only authenticated users can view toggle in the Share this cloud recording pop-up window to access the share this cloud recording feature.
  7. Please ensure that the cloud recording can be viewed by the authenticated users in the dropdown menu.
  8. You can enable or disable this functionality by clicking the following toggles:
    • Add an expiry date to the link
    • Viewers can download
    • Viewers can see the transcript.
    • View recording on demand (registration required)
      Note: This recording can only be accessed by registered users.
    • Passcode protection
  9. By selecting Show or Hide on the Sharing Information page, you can display or hide the recorded information. Copying Sharing Information is also an option.
  10. Select Done.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *