Create a private channel for your team if you need focused, private communication.
Everyone on the team has access to most channels, including viewing and participating in conversations, sharing files, etc.
To participate, see content, or add the channel to their list of channels, members of a team must be added to a private channel.
Create a private channel
- You can create a channel for a team by going to the team’s page, selecting More options, and then clicking Add channel.
- Give it a name and give it a description.
- Under Privacy, click the down arrow and then choose a group of people within the team who will only be able to access the document.
- Click on the Next button.
- Enter the names of the people you would like to invite, including any guests you would like to bring along.
Note: For access to a private channel, someone must already be a member or guest of that team.
- Click on Add.A lock will appear next to the name of the channel in the list of people you’ve added. Select the Open people pane to see all the people who have been added to a private channel.
Share a file and Meet Now
- When you share a file in a private channel, it can only be viewed and accessed by the people who have access to that particular channel. The shared files live on a separate SharePoint site which is separate from the standard channels where the files are shared. As a result, only members of the private channel will have access to the channel.
- When you select Meet now, you will be able to meet with just those people who are part of the private channel.
Check all steps in Video