You can delete a team (if you are the owner of the team) by going to the name of the team, selecting More options, then selecting Delete the team if you are the team owner. There will be a permanent removal of your team from the site.
- Deleted teams are removed from Exchange after the mailboxes and calendars of the team are removed
- We will also delete all the files and the SharePoint site associated with the corresponding site
- The team’s notebooks, plans, dashboards, and groups, such as OneNote notebooks, Planners, PowerBI workspaces, and Stream groups, will also be removed. This includes Notes, Plans, Dashboards, and Groups that are associated with the team.
It is possible for team owners or IT administrators to recover deleted teams for a maximum of 30 days after they have been deleted. We encourage you to check out our article Restore a deleted Microsoft 365 group for more information on how to do this.
Frequently Asked Questions
How do I delete a team from Microsoft Teams as a student?
- As a general rule, you can delete a class in the following manner: You navigate to the class you wish to delete, click the ellipse icon that appears under the class name when you click it, and then you click the ellipses button to delete the class.
- It is possible to delete the team by selecting the option Delete the team if you wish to do so.
- The Delete team option should be checked if you are certain that you wish to delete the class from the class list.
How do I delete a team from my list?
- For the process of removing a Team list, you will need to go to the channel where you wish to remove the list is located in Team and click on the channel where you wish to remove the list.
- The More option will be found at the top of the screen when you tap the More option at the bottom of the screen.
- Tap on the screen. The Delete button can be found next to the name of a list, and by tapping it, you can delete the list from the system.
Can members delete a team?
How do I remove a team from my desktop?