Join a meeting
You can join your meeting by tapping the Join button on the welcome screen. In order to facilitate meetings and great collaboration, Surface Hub is capable of switching between Teams and Skype for Business.
Full screen view
You will see other participants’ video feeds on the right side of the screen once you have joined a meeting, as well as their video feeds once you have joined the meeting. As many as four video streams can be displayed at the same time on the Surface Hub. It is important to make sure that the incoming video fills up the entire screen, regardless of whether it is all four feeds or only one feed, by clicking on the Full screen button at the bottom of the Teams pane.
You can exit full screen mode by tapping the same button one more time.
Add someone to the meeting
By hitting the Add People button located at the bottom of the Teams pane (beside the button that opens the full-screen mode) and then typing the name of the person you want to include in the meeting at the bottom of the text box, you can add them to the meeting. The more you type, the more options you will see on the screen. You can add a person to your search list by tapping their name when you see the one you are looking for.
One camera is located on the right side, while the other is located on the left side of the Surface Hub device. In the left corner, you will find the default camera, but if you wish, you can change the camera in order to meet your needs.
You will find Settings next to the Add people button. Select either the Left or Right camera option from the Cameras menu.
View meeting details
It is this Info button that can provide you with information regarding the meeting name, duration, time, location and team members at the bottom of the Teams pane.
Share your screen
In the middle of the call controls, you will find the Screen Share option that enables you to instantly share your screen with everyone in the meeting. Those are the only steps you need to take!
During the meeting, any participants can use the Surface Hub to share their own screen as well. There will be an automatic full-screen mode that appears on their screen as soon as they turn it on. Surface Hub users can navigate through slides independently of the speaker in the case of a PowerPoint presentation that is shared by a participant.
Move the Teams pane
On the left side of the screen, there is a pane that displays the Teams menu by default. The left side can be switched by touching near the top right corner of the screen, if you have a preference for that.
Turn off incoming video
You can access more actions by tapping More actions in the call controls. You will be able to turn off the incoming video when you select that option.
Share a whiteboard link
In order for everyone present in the meeting to be able to see a Whiteboard link:
- Copy the Whiteboard link once you have logged in.
- You can access teams.microsoft.com by opening your Edge browser and signing in.
- After you have found the chat room for the meeting, copy the video link to the chat room (or individual participants’ chat messages) and paste it in a chat message.
End the meeting
When you are ready to end the call, click Hang up from the call controls.
In order to prevent future users from being able to see past activity on the Surface Hub after a session has been completed on that device, the device’s history is erased promptly after the session has been completed.