Admins and account owners can specify what their hosts are allowed to do with their cloud recordings in the recording management settings. Admins and owners can control settings such as sharing cloud recordings, automatic recording, and what can be downloaded from cloud recordings.
All recording management settings will be disabled if you disable cloud recording and lock that setting for the entire account.
- Hosts can enable or disable a setting in their own account if it is not locked.
- Licenced hosts cannot change locked settings and must contact their account administrators if any changes need to be made.
Prerequisites for managing cloud recording settings
- Account type: Pro, Business, or Enterprise
- Ownership or administrative privileges
- The ability to edit user-level settings
How to enable or disable cloud recording management settings
- Log in to the Zoom website.
- From the navigation menu, choose one of the following actions:
- The owner or admin of the account can change account settings by clicking Account Management, then Account Settings.
- The owner of an account or the admin of a group of users can change settings by clicking User Management, then Group Management, and then the name of the relevant group from the list.
- Zoom’s Group Management page has been renamed to Groups if you signed up for a new account after August 21, 2021; or you enabled the New Admin Experience in your account.
- Click Settings if you are a licensed host.
- Select Recording.
- The following settings can be enabled or disabled by clicking the toggle.
- Admins and account owners can only access some settings at the account and group level.
- Allow cloud recording sharing:
- You can share your cloud recordings with other hosts.
- Automatic recording:
- Let hosts record their meetings automatically. Once the meeting begins, the recording will begin.
- Prevent hosts from accessing their cloud recordings:
- Disallow hosts from viewing their cloud recordings. If this setting is enabled, only administrators with recording management privileges can access the recordings.
- Cloud recording downloads:
- Provide a link to the cloud recording that can be downloaded by anyone.
- If you only want the host to download cloud recordings, you can check the box next to Only the host can download cloud recordings.
- IP Address Access Control:
- Restrict playback of shared recordings to specific IP addresses. Recordings shared publicly or to authenticated users are subject to this setting. The IP addresses of signed-in users in the same account will still need to be allowed to view cloud recordings shared with authenticated users.
- Require users to authenticate before viewing cloud recordings:
- Provide meeting hosts with the ability to require users to sign in to their Zoom accounts before viewing recordings.
- Set recording as on-demand by default:
- Viewers of cloud recordings must first register.
- On-demand recording registration for webinars does not work with PayPal integration, attendee emails, post-attendee links, or surveys.
- Require passcode to access shared cloud recordings:
- Cloud recordings must be accessed by a password. Also, you can check the box to apply this setting to existing cloud recordings and set a minimum passcode strength requirement.
- Viewers can see the transcript:
- Transcripts of cloud recordings can be viewed by users when this setting is enabled. Newly generated recordings are only affected by this setting.
- Delete cloud recordings after a specified number of days:
- Delete cloud recordings after a certain number of days. Because the auto-deletion process only occurs once per day, it is possible that a recording may not be eligible for deletion when the automatic deletion process occurs on our servers. This is why auto-deletion usually occurs one day after the specified amount of days.
- The host can delete cloud recordings:
- The host can delete their cloud recordings. Admins can only delete recordings that have been disabled.
- Allow recovery of deleted cloud recordings from Trash:
- Once this setting is enabled, deleted cloud recordings will be kept for 30 days in the trash. These files will not count towards the total storage allowance. It cannot be disabled by administrators. Cloud recordings can be deleted by a host.
- Push notification to subscription URL when a cloud recording is available:
- Triggers Webhooks when a cloud recording has been completed. Administrators cannot lock this setting.
- Recording notifications:
- Participants joining on a Zoom client or via phone will be notified that a meeting is being recorded. You cannot disable recording notifications, but you can modify them based on your account type.
- Record meeting as WORM state (write once, read many):
- Cloud recordings can no longer be edited or deleted in the web portal once this setting is enabled. Recordings cannot be edited or deleted until the retention period has expired if a retention time range has been configured.
- Zoom must enable this setting. The feature will be enabled after you contact support within 3 business days.
- Recordings that are set to auto delete will only be deleted after the retention period expires if they are set to do so.