We will be updating Zoom scheduler behavior after these dates in order to provide a better experience:
- September 20, 2020
- Web and desktop Outlook add-ins and plugins
- Scheduler for desktop clients (Mac, Windows, Linux)
- Scheduler for mobile apps (iOS, Android)
- September 22, 2020
- Browser extensions for Google Calendar (Chrome, Firefox, Safari)
You must update to version 5.3 or higher in order to take advantage of these new features in the mobile app, desktop client, and Outlook plugin. Neither the Outlook add-in nor Chrome extension nor Firefox extension need to be updated manually.
This article covers:
- Updates to Zoom schedulers
- Frequently asked questions (FAQs)
Updates to Zoom schedulers
After the specified dates, the schedulers will always make sure that the user’s Zoom web portal settings will be synchronized for each new meeting scheduled after these dates. If a user makes any changes to a particular setting, those changes will only be reflected for the specific scheduled meeting. The user’s default settings will be applied to all future scheduled meetings.
From the web portal, only the Waiting Room settings and the passcode sync with the Google Calendar browser extensions (Chrome, Firefox, and Safari). Every other setting will remain unchanged from the settings defined locally from the scheduler.
It is summarized in the following table whether or not the user’s settings in Zoom’s web portal are synced with the schedulers:
|Settings sync from user’s web portal settings
|Zoom desktop client
|Zoom mobile app
|Zoom web portal
|Google Calendar browser extensions (Chrome, Firefox, and Safari)
|(only passcode and Waiting Room settings)
|Google Calendar add-on and other Marketplace integrations
Frequently asked questions (FAQs)
What is staying the same?
- Zoom Web Scheduler
- Integrations from the Marketplace, including the Google Calendar add-on and third-party integrations
How will users be notified of this update?
Whenever a meeting or webinar is scheduled, a notification pop-up will appear with the following message:
“Your Zoom web portal scheduling settings have been synchronized with your Zoom profile”
Click on “Change Settings”
If an assistant has scheduling privilege for a boss, whose settings does it show?
The assistant will only follow a boss’s scheduling preferences if the assistant has scheduling privileges for that boss. Upon release, all settings related to the user you are scheduling for will be automatically synced from the user’s web portal settings.
Does this update apply to customers using VDI?
Yes, I agree. The VDI client has been updated as a result of these updates.
What will be the difference between newer and older client versions?
All updated schedulers will display a dismissible banner informing the user of this change. This banner will also provide the option to change scheduling settings on the web if the user so desires.
Customers will need to download and update their desktop client as well as their Outlook plugin in order to see this change.
It should be noted that the change is applied to the Google Calendar browser extensions as well as the Outlook add-in, so the change will take place immediately, regardless of what version of these schedulers are operating on.
What if a user selects “Do not show again” for some settings while scheduling?
If the user’s web portal settings are set up in the user’s profile, the scheduler settings will still sync.
Does the scheduler need to be restarted?
There will be no need to restart the scheduler once the implementation has been completed. Changes will be implemented automatically as soon as the implementation is complete.
Will previously scheduled meetings be impacted in any way?
In short, no. These changes will have no effect on future meetings that users schedule in the near future.