Showing Zoom windows during screen share

This meeting feature allows you to share your screen with other participants during your meeting and the Zoom desktop application window will be displayed to them. As well as demonstrating Zoom desktop client actions, users are also able to show the features of the meeting toolbar in the Zoom desktop client. As an example, if you’re showing the Zoom window during a screen share and if you’re showing the meeting controls during the meeting, you may be able to help another participant better understand how Zoom works or if you are making a presentation on Zoom.

Note: It is by default that the Zoom window and meeting controls will not be shared with your meeting participants when you share your screen. It is necessary before the Zoom desktop client can show Zoom windows during screen sharing that the Show Zoom windows during screen sharing option be enabled in the Zoom web portal.

Prerequisites for Show Zoom windows during screen share

  • Client for Zoom on the desktop

    • Windows: A version of 5.0.0 or a higher version is required

    • macOS: A version of 5.0.0 or a higher version is required

    • Linux: A version of 5.0.0 or a higher version is required

  • Ownership or administrative privileges on an account

How to enable Showing Zoom windows during screen share

Account

Showing Zoom windows during screen sharing can be enabled or disabled for all users in the account by adjusting the following settings:

  1. You need to sign into the Zoom web portal as a Zoom administrator who has the ability to edit account settings.

  2. You can access your account settings by clicking on Account Management in the navigation panel.

  3. You will find the Meeting tab on the left side of the screen.

  4. There is a toggle under Meeting (Basic) where you can enable or disable the Zoom window showing when sharing a screen.

  5. It is recommended that you click the Enable or Disable button if a verification dialog appears in order to confirm the change.

  6. Please note that you can make this setting mandatory for all users in your account by clicking the lock icon. To make this setting mandatory, you must confirm your settings by clicking Lock to make this setting mandatory.

  7. Please sign out and sign back in to Zoom’s desktop client after you have signed out of it.
    It is also possible to exit the client and then re-open it if you wish.

  8. You can access your settings by clicking the profile picture on your profile page.

  9. Click on the Share Screen button.

  10. If the Show my Zoom window to other participants when I am sharing my screen is checked then the Zoom window will show when I am sharing my screen.

See also  Zoom Meeting and Webinar passcodes

Group

It can be enabled or disabled for a group of users to show Zoom windows during screen sharing by following these steps:

  1. As an admin, you have the privilege of editing groups on the Zoom web portal if you log in.

  2. You can find User Management and Group Management in the navigation panel.

  3. In the list of groups, click on the name of the group that applies to you.

  4. Go to the tab labeled Meeting and click on it.

  5. There is a toggle under Meeting (Basic) where you can enable or disable the Zoom window showing when sharing a screen.

  6. The change will be verified by clicking Enable or Disable, depending on whether a verification dialog appears.
    Note: A grayed out option indicates that it has been locked at the account level, and it will need to be changed there in order to work.

  7. It is possible to make this setting mandatory for all users in the group by clicking the lock icon , followed by the checkmark icon , then clicking the Lock button to confirm the setting.

  8. Please sign out and sign back in to Zoom’s desktop client after you have signed out of it.
    It is also possible to exit the client and then re-open it if you wish.

  9. You can access your settings by clicking the profile picture on your profile page.

  10. Click on the Share Screen button.

  11. If the Show my Zoom window to other participants when I am sharing my screen is checked then the Zoom window will show when I am sharing my screen.

See also   View analytics for your teams in Microsoft Teams

User

When showing Zoom windows during a screen share, here are some steps that you can take to enable or disable it:

  1. Zoom’s web portal can be accessed by signing in.

  2. Click Settings from the navigation panel at the top of the screen.

  3. Go to the tab labeled Meeting and click on it.

  4. There is a toggle under Meeting (Basic) where you can enable or disable the Zoom window showing when sharing a screen.

  5. The change will be verified by clicking Enable or Disable, depending on whether a verification dialog appears.
    Note: There is a good chance that the option has been blocked at either the account or group level if the option is grayed out. It is important that you get in touch with your Zoom administrator.

  6. Please sign out and sign back in to Zoom’s desktop client after you have signed out of it.
    It is also possible to exit the client and then re-open it if you wish.

  7. After clicking on your profile picture, you will be able to access your profile settings.

  8. Click on the Share Screen button.

  9. The Show my Zoom Windows to other participants when I am screen sharing box should be checked as long as you are using Zoom as your screen sharing application.